The Perfect Thank You

As you know, I moved a couple of weeks ago.

IMG_1959

Left my near-perfect teaching job in Bixby.

Left my wonderfully amazing, super supportive team. (We’re missing 4 people, but this is most of us!)

IMG_1886

Left Tulsa.

Left my 3rd floor apartment.

Left my *gulp* roommates that have become family. (pause to wipe away tears)

IMG_1924

Moved into my amazing Grandma’s house.

Moved mountains of materials into my new ginormous classroom.

Moved back into my family’s daily life.

Started walking regularly (in hopes that will turn to jogging!).

B8380EAE-2789-4954-ACBB-7F3E6259B188

Started the process of finding a church that will feed my soul.

Began convincing my cat that 5 am is NOT in fact the optimal time to eat breakfast. Don’t let the furry face fool you. She is a menace at 5 am.

IMG_1971

Since moving I haven’t really been doing a great deal of cooking, but I have been doing a fair bit of cookie baking!

IMG_2030

And, to be honest, cookie eating.  Yum.

I have a problem with chocolate chip cookies, mine almost always turn out super flat.  This is not necessarily a bad thing, unless you are wanting puffy cookies.   My roomies didn’t have this problem.  They can take the exact same recipe and their cookies will be puffy and perfect.

(For the next part to make much sense you need some background.  My Grandma lives right next to the wild game processing plant that my Grandpa started years and years ago.  When I say next to the shop, I mean the house shares a abnormally large driveway and paved area with it.   My aunt, uncle, cousin, and a couple of other guys work there year round with the rest of the family pitching in during deer season.)

My cousin and one of the workers were asked by my Grandma to help me unload the truck, and since she’s Grandma, you do whatever she asks willingly.  She’s just that awesome.

As a thank you, I offered to make some cookies for them.  Alas, they both requested chocolate chip.

I tried a batch, they tasted weird, were burned on the bottom and were…you guessed it, flat.

I didn’t take pictures.  They were that bad.

I tried another batch after tinkering with the oven.  They came out like normal, but were super flat and I just didn’t want to give the guys flat cookies.  Plus I was out of chocolate chips and had to use M&Ms.  That’s not what they asked for! 🙂

IMG_1988

I did an internet search.  I found a recipe that I had heard about, but never tried before.  The cookies were perfectly puffy and deliciously soft!

IMG_2032

(They also didn’t puddle out to triple their original size like my trademark flat ones!)

This recipe seems to be a classic according to the comments, so if you already know it….then you are way ahead of me in the awesome cookie realm!!  For anyone with a similar chocolate chip cookie block to mine, you’re welcome.  Enjoy the cookies 🙂

Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

very slightly adapted from Allrecipes.com

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 (3.4 oz) package instant vanilla pudding mix (what?!?! Totally the secret ingredient for the puff impaired!)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350.  Whisk together flour and baking soda until incorporated and set aside.  Cream butter and sugars together, but don’t go crazy here.  I just found out over-mixing and cookies don’t mix (haha).  Add the package of pudding and mix until just combined.  Beat in the eggs and vanilla, then the flour mixture.  Again, (say it with me) until just combined!  I’ve taken to stopping my mixer when there is still a little flour showing and finishing by hand to avoid this :).  Fold in the chocolate chips.  (Special note, try to use quality chocolate chips.  I’m a generic brand kind of girl myself, but I’ve found springing for the Ghirardelli/fancy chips makes a HUGE difference and its one of the few non-generic items I’ll buy.)  Scoop dough onto a baking sheet in rounded spoonfuls and bake for 9-11 minutes or until the edges start to brown slightly.  Cool just enough for the chocolate to no longer be lethal before scarfing down or cool completely and use as a perfect thank you gift.

Make approx. 3 dozen cookies

Cookies will stay soft for a long time, I made them 6 days ago and the few that remain still taste fresh and soft.

Leave a Reply

